1 paid sick Leave Law Impacts of Initiative 1433. Initiative 1433, which was approved by Washington Employees are entitled to use accrued paid sick voters in fall 2016, contains four primary changes Leave beginning on the 90th calendar day after to state law: the start of their employment. Requires employers to provide paid sick Leave to Unused paid sick Leave of 40 hours or less must be most employees beginning Jan. 1, 2018. carried over to the following year. Increases the minimum wage over the next Employers are allowed to provide employees with several years. more generous carry over and accrual policies.
2 Ensures tips and service charges are given to the Usage appropriate staff. Employees may use paid sick Leave : Protects employees from retaliation when exercising their rights under the Minimum Wage To care for themselves or their family members. Requirements and Labor Standards Act. When the employees' workplace or their child's school or place of care has been closed by a public paid sick Leave requirements official for any health-related reason. Starting Jan. 1, 2018, employers in Washington will be required to provide most of their employees with For absences that qualify for Leave under the state's Domestic Violence Leave Act.
3 paid sick Leave . Employers may allow employees to use paid sick Get ready now! Sign up for updates on the new Leave for additional purposes. requirements, training for employers and more: Online resources for employers paid sick Leave tools, training and other resources are Accrual available in L&I's online Employer Resource Center: . Click Employer paid Most employees must accrue paid sick Leave at a sick Leave Training on the right side of the web minimum rate of one hour of paid sick Leave for page to sign up for one of the webinars in December. every 40 hours worked. This includes part-time Webinar dates and times: and seasonal workers.
4 Dec. 11: 9:30 , noon, 2:30 or 5:30 paid sick Leave must be paid to employees at their normal hourly compensation. Dec. 18: 9:30 , noon, 2:30 or 5:30 Dec. 21: 9:30 , noon, 2:30 or 5:30 Dec. 28: 9:30 , noon, 2:30 or 5:30 Upon request, foreign language support and formats for persons with disabilities are available. Call 1-800-547-8367. TDD users, call 360-902-5797. L&I is an equal opportunity employer. New required L&I workplace poster Service charges and tips In November, employers received an updated The initiative states that an employer must pay to Your Rights as a Worker poster in the mail. The its employees: poster includes information about the new paid sick Leave requirements, minimum wage and All tips and gratuities; and protections for employees against retaliation.
5 All service charges as defined under RCW , Please post it immediately in a visible, accessible except those that are itemized as not being payable place at your worksite. to the employee(s) servicing the customer. Tips and service charges paid to an employee may Minimum wage not offset the state minimum wage requirement. The minimum wage is $11 per hour in 2017. The minimum wage applies to all jobs, including Retaliation protections agriculture. The new law protects employees from retaliation Employers must pay employees age 16 and older for exercising their rights under the Minimum at least $11 per hour in 2017.
6 Wage Requirements and Labor Standards Act. This includes filing a complaint for wages owed, lawfully Employers are allowed to pay 85% of the minimum using paid sick Leave or exercising protected rights. wage to employees under age 16. For 2017, this rate is $ per hour. Questions? Please note: Seattle, Tacoma, and the City of SeaTac For more information, go to , currently have higher minimum wage rates. or contact the Employment Standards Program at L&I by The local rate applies if it is higher than the state phone (1-866-219-7321) or email minimum wage rate. The initiative does not change overtime pay paid family and medical Leave requirements.
7 The Washington State Legislature passed the paid The initiative sets future minimum wage rates. family and medical Leave bill in the 2017 legislative The minimum wage will increase annually over session. This new law will be a program administered the next three years: $ in 2018, $12 in 2019, by the Washington State Employment Security and $ in 2020. Department. Beginning in 2019, the program will be funded by premiums paid by employers and employees. Starting Jan. 1, 2021, minimum wage increases In 2020, it will allow eligible workers to apply for up to will be calculated by L&I using a formula tied to the rate of inflation (based on the Consumer 12 weeks of paid Leave for personal illness, pregnancy or Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical illness of family members.)
8 For more information, go to Workers - CPI-W: ).. PUBLICATION F700-197-000 [12-2017].